Why I hate affirmative action

I hate affirmative action. It makes me feel inferior. Like I’m too
incompetent to get ahead without special help, it’s racism in it’s
purest form. And no, I haven’t gotten ahead. But that’s not because of
my race. It’s because of well, a lot of things I choose not to get
into today. But those things are my fault, and my responsibility.

And I hate that when a black person gets ahead, there’s a built-in
excuse for them to be denigrated, because “who knows if they really
deserved to get there.” it sets everyone back. It devalues
accomplishment. It’s racism, flat out.

And I’d rather my racists just be straight about it. That way I know
to ignore them. But the guilty privileged racists, they are the worst
of all. They’ve had it easy, but I’m a racist (even tho I’m black)
because I don’t want to make excuses, because I don’t see everyone in
black and white.

Well, fuck that, I want my accomplishments to be mine, my failures
to be mine. I don’t want to be judged by the color of my skin, but
instead by the content of my character.

About boredgirl260

27 year old trying to figure things out as she goes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

