mall story

I must admit, I have some residual fondness for the Willow Grove Mall. I grew up going there. I an remember when they used to have a Pathmark in the parking lot where the…Kmart? circuit city? used to be. I remember when they built the carousel, and I remember when I went on a date with a guy where we considered riding it. I remember catching the bus up there when I was in college, and going there when I was a kid and occasionally running into kids from school I hated. I remember the banners and carousel horses hung from the roof, and fountain on the first floor. I remember going to dinner on the 3rd floor of Strawbridges.

Point is (and I acknowledge I took quite awhile getting there), I don’t have an overwhelming hatred for that mall, even if I don’t shop there all that often. That said, as I wandered the mall today, I couldn’t help but thinking how much cooler it would be if the amusement park were still there. It’s honestly rather hard to imagine. Rollercoasters twenty minutes from my house. A Tilt a Whirl where the Gap is, etc. A trolley stop where the Olive Garden is.

So, I got a cookie from the Nestle Toll House Store, a free hoagie sample in the food court, wondered why Spencer’s had to turn into a sex store. And everytime I see Bloomingdale’s I remember that I forgot the store still existed. And I wonder what the hell a pet bakery is. And go to the Border’s that is going out of business, and curse the Atm’s for hanging banks.

And it’s fine, and it’s good…but wouldn’t a roller coaster…even a lame, kiddy roller coaster…be an upgrade?? Wouldn’t John Phillip Sousa playing be kinda awesome. Way better than damn Ambercrombie and Fitch.

About boredgirl260

27 year old trying to figure things out as she goes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

