Bound to offend

Ok, anyone who knows me knows that I am not a terribly religious person. I have, in the words of one of my friends,  that vague, American, I believe in God, but not exactly heavy on religious dogma, thing. So, yeah, I believe that there is a God. But, Jesus as the son of God I’m not so sure about. And, I’m not sure what form God takes. And I’m not always sure he’s so benevolent. Sometimes I think he sits in heaven and laughs at us all.

That said, I’m pretty certain he exists. I don’t belong to a religion, I don’t go to church, and I generally think when it comes to religion people should leave each other the fuck alone. I don’t like being preached to, I think people should let each other be.

And, who, in my opinion, are the preachiest fuckers of all? Atheists. I swear to fucking God, I get preached at more by atheists, certain there is no God as they mock people of faith for being certain there is, then any other religious group. Now, I concede, maybe if I lived down South or something that’d be different, but up here, it seems like I encounter preachy ass atheists all the time.

And it’s so annoying. It’s like, just because you believe something, why must everyone else? And, how the hell can you be so certain? Atheism is as much about blind faith as any religion is. And, I don’t even GET why they are so preachy. Like, religious types I kinda get the preachy, even if it annoys me. “Trying to save your immortal soul..yadda yadda yadda.” But, with the atheists, what? Do they honestly believe that if there was no God peace would suddenly break out around the world? Really? Are they just so insecure about their own beliefs that they need to convince others? Seriously what is it? I want to know, so that way I know how one off-color religious remark on my part suddenly leads to hours of lecture about the evils of religion, and how God causes all the world’s wars, and blah blah blah.

Well, just as guns don’t kill people, people do, the same applies for religion. People, since the dawn of man, just love to fucking kill each other. They want money, or power, or land, or whatever. They want to kill the Jews (seriously, wtf, why is it always the fucking Jews?? So unfair). Or, they hate those that are different, or threaten them, or whatever. And sometimes it’s rational, and sometimes it isn’t. But either way, the end result if usually a giant pile of bodies. And, if it wasn’t religion, it’d be something else.

But hey, maybe me and most of the world is wrong. Maybe it’s really just that pesky faith keeping us down.

About boredgirl260

27 year old trying to figure things out as she goes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bound to offend

  1. Russ says:

    If people are killing each other do you think that people are good or evil?

  2. despicable says:

    Religion brings forth the result of having “peace of mind” regarding the fact of dying and no longer having consciousness. By believing what religion says is true and a “fact” does not make it an objective fact, it makes it a subjective notion that it is true and not false.
    True science is not concerned about the subjective notions of what exists in your brain. True science is interested in what exists outside of your subjective consciousness. That what exists independent of your consciousness is that what is objectively real and true. It is true because it is verified by verifiable evidence and is not prejudiced by subjective notions of the real world.
    Religion brings forth the result of having “peace of mind” regarding the fact of dying and no longer having consciousness. By believing what religion says is true and a “fact” does not make it an objective fact, it makes it a subjective notion that it is true and not false.
    True science is not concerned about the subjective notions of what exists in your brain. True science is interested in what exists outside of your subjective consciousness. That what exists independent of your consciousness is that what is objectively real and true. It is true because it is verified by verifiable evidence and is not prejudiced by subjective notions of the real world.
    http://despicable.wordpress.com/

  3. J.W. Wartick says:

    A lot of interesting thoughts here. I had some similarity in thought several years ago. I’d wholeheartedly recommend reading up on the subject. I don’t want to get preachy, but I’d say that if you examine the evidence, the cumulative case for both the existence of God and God’s presence in the person of Christ is not just compelling, but utterly convincing.

    A couple recommendations: Reasonable Faith by William Lane Craig (a wonderful book that affirmed what I’d known all along), The Case for Christ by Lee Strobel (a very basic introduction to the reasons to believe in Christ as Lord), and The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer (written by a German pastor who went back to Germany from the U.S. during WW2 and was martyred- his criticisms of the church and call to true faith).

    Those three books were life changing for me. I never knew there were any good reasons to believe what I do. Ever since I opened the Cost of Discipleship and thought “Yeah!” the whole time, I have consumed every book I can on the subject.

    Feel free to ask me anything– http://jwwartick.com

  4. J.W. Wartick says:

    Also, I think an entertaining read for you would be “The Irrational Atheist.” He also got fed up with the constant “religion is evil” crap from the other side, so he wrote a book that is, in my opinion, devastating to the arguments of the New Atheists.

Leave a Reply

