Observing instead of living

Friday night I was at the phillies mets game. We lost, and the scent of crab fries taunted me from beyond an impossibly long line, but it was still a good time. Anyway, at one point early in the game after I ate some mediocre pizza I took out my camera and started taking pictures. My friend lectured me about MLB rules(I didn’t have the express permission of the phillies and major league baseball), but I was shockingly undeterred.

Anyway, at one point I was so busy taking pictures, I missed a really cool play. And, it seems like my whole life is like that. I’m so busy trying to take a picture, or updating my facebook status, or imming or texting someone about what’s going on, I miss what’s going on. I observe life instead of live it. I’m so concerned with having evidence of what’s going on, with writing blogs in my head about my shenanigans, that I think I miss the point.

I have pictures, or status messages, but not much of a life.  It’s all passing me by, and what will I have to show for it- some only sometimes witty blog entries?? And, part of it a fear of…gettting rejected, getting hurt, if I’m behind a camera or buried in my phone, then well, I’m choosing to not be noticed, as opposed to everyone actively not noticing me.

The reasons are unimportant, but the  results are- which is that I should start taking an active role in my life, before it’s too late. Easier said then done.

About boredgirl260

27 year old trying to figure things out as she goes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Observing instead of living

  1. Christian says:

    Hey I found you using the nearby option on tweety. It’s kinda scary how similar we are. What’s your email address?

Leave a Reply

