what’s old is new

Right now I am entirely obsessed with a song by Matchbox 20. This wouldn’t be so notable- except the song is ten years old.

It’s called Hang, and it’s off of Yourself or Something Like You. For those unfamilar, that’s the album with Push, and 3am, that came out when I was still in high school. I’ve had this album for years and years, but recently, it’s like I can’t get enough of this song. Like I just never really listened to it before.

That happens alot. Maybe as I mature the song speaks to me more, or maybe it was just at the end of the CD. In the days before my mp3 player meant that my entire musical life was constantly on shuffle, I would old school listen to CD’s in my CD player.¬† Problem was, songs at the end of CD’s were routinely ignored. I’d stick the CD in, and start listening to it, but then the phone would ring, or something would come on TV, or I’d arrive at my destination, and I’d never go back and finish it.

I’d listen to every CD straight through at least once, but with the exception of CD’s I listened to obsessively from front to back (i.e. Offspring- Smash) I always knew early tracks better than later ones.

Maybe that’s what happenned with Hang, I’d have to look at the /cd, but that might be a later track. It’s just, odd, like a metaphor. That things fron long ago that you never paid attention to can suddently come to the forefront and be awesome. Or something. What’s old is new, at least on my zune.

About boredgirl260

27 year old trying to figure things out as she goes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

