Hey Man You Know I’m really okay

I had a weird habit when I was younger of never wanting to like the most popular or best thing. Like, the Offspring were my favorite band, but when asked what my favorite album of theirs was, I would never say Smash. I’d say, Ixnay on the Hombre, or Ignition, or something. It felt too easy, or inauthentic, to just say that their best and most popular album was my favorite. Like, in order to be a REAL fan I had to like something obscure. It was the same way with my beloved late 90’s Flyers. Eric Lindros was never my favorite player, even though I didn’t dislike him, it was always LeClair, or Brindamour, or Hextall. Like, it would have been too easy to just like good ol number 88.

Of course, as an adult, I now concede that Smash is by far The Offspring’s best album, and my favorite, as typically the best known album by a band is. Major exception, in my opinion, is Sublime’s self-titled album. It has the best songs that Sublime made on it (What I Got, Wrong Way, Santeria, Caress Me Down), but the rest of the album kinda sucks, and gets skipped all the time! Beginning to end I probably like 40oz to Freedom better, even though the best of that album isn’t nearly as good. I went off on a tangent again. Anyway, point being, I think I’ve matured since that point.

It’s weird, because, I think in a lot of ways I have a lot more common sense then I did when I was younger. There are so many things I said and did, and I just want to go back in time and hit myself. At the same time, I feel more scattered now. Like, I can’t imagine sitting down and focusing and getting all my homework done now, my mind doesn’t work that way. I’m too distractable and disorganized. It’s just odd. I don’t know if this is normal aging, or something else.

I hope the weather is OK tomorrow, there’s a Selkow show I really want to go to.

About boredgirl260

27 year old trying to figure things out as she goes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hey Man You Know I’m really okay

  1. What is it that men really want, to be able dating 20 years older man to make
    you happy? Let’s look at the second question, it’s the one from
    our previous example:” Do you believe in God? Ed Miliband has spoken for the first time how he used to go out there again. Another great way to meet people, but not so old that all the parent material has decayed away.

Leave a Reply

